Whiskey Tango Foxtrot

I can go to Incahoots everyday and dance until I am unable to move and in need of a shower; still I am overtaken with an incredible sense of joy. I try to dance twice a week, it’s the only real exercise I get each week. I very much loathe gyms and running is just horrible. I can dance for hours (usually stay for 4) and it doesn’t feel like I’m doing anything but let my soul fly free for a bit.

See, I’ve been thinking about this and I’ve come to the conclusion that my passion for dance comes from God. He fills my heart with this powerful joy, and my soul’s response is dance. When this happens, I usually close my eyes and “tune in.” I can feel my soul swaying and swirling to the music of God. In spite of that inspiration, I’m not particularly graceful and I’m quite timid (I’m working on it). That is the wonderful thing about dance, it doesn’t matter: if you let music fill your soul, your whole being takes over. I don’t have to be graceful to be enraptured; all I need is to let God, to let Love, into my soul. Though I know that dance brings me this elation, this wild relinquishing of control, every time I am stunned and every time my joy is newly fallen snow.

With this in mind, one of my resolutions involves this delight. I’ve determined that I will go dancing at least once a week and dance ballroom at least once a month. The first part I’m rocking: Incahoots twice a week for at least four hours. The second part I wasn’t able to do last month, however, a friend and I are joining the Balboa Park Dancers for some Tango/ChaCha this month and Salsa/Foxtrot next month. We’re mostly interested in Tango; we danced for three years in USD’s now deceased Tango Club.

DSCN0058

I was never good; I really only learned how to follow. It’s inanely difficult to give control to someone else, and I struggle with letting go (I’ll come back to this in another post). Furthermore, my mind gets in the way of the rest of me. When I’m passionate about something, I become very timid in sharing it. I get stuck in my own head, unable to pull myself out far enough to just let go and live.

I should be beyond this; I danced in high school. It started as a way to get out of taking another miserable year of P.E. but I soon fell in love. Unfortunately, I have the heart and enthusiasm but I’m lacking in ability: I can’t spot properly. I can slowly move myself around in a circle and turn my head at the last moment, but if I attempt something quicker, like a pirouette, I’m toast. I’m stubborn though, and eventually I tried out for Dance Productions (I didn’t make it, probably because the girl I tried out with fell and I couldn’t recover the dance we just learned). Then, I found Tango in college. When that died I forgot how much I love dancing. Last year, by the grace of God I was convinced to go to a wonderful event called Daughters of the King. There, among other things of pure awesome, David taught us the basics of the Foxtrot and my love was rekindled.

So now I am back at the beginning, in love again and filled with joy. AMDG

“You have put into my heart a greater joy than they have from abundance of corn and new wine.” Psalm 4:7

Leave a comment